What are the 4 major chinese cuisines?

There are two main classifications of Chinese cuisine based on geographical locations and cooking styles. Your personal travel advisor, a destination expert, will tailor your tour. Each response will be within 24 hours. Chinese cuisine can be classified as the eight regional cuisines in China, which are the following: Lu (Shandong), Chuan (Sichuan), Hui (Anhui), Yue (Guangdong), Min (Fujian), Xiang (Hunan), Su (Jiangsu), Zhe (Zhejiang).

There are many cooking styles in China, but Chinese chefs have identified eight culinary traditions as the best. In Chinese, it is often called the land of fish and rice or the land of plenty (yúm~zhīxiāng —). Cantonese was the most common dialect spoken in American Chinatories until recently (today Mandarin is also spoken) and it is the food from this region that evolved into many of the Americanized Chinese takeaway dishes that you can enjoy today. The four previous cuisines were the four main cuisines in China before the Qing Dynasty, which is why they are collectively known as the Four Great Traditions of Chinese cuisine (Lu, Chuan, Yue and Huaiyang).

At the end of the Ming Dynasty, Chinese cuisine was divided into Beijing style, Jiangsu style and Cantonese style. Think of the following four kitchens as the new arrivals, which were established in the late Qing Dynasty to form the eight main ones. At the end of the Qing Dynasty, Sichuan, Cantonese, Hunan, Shandong, Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Fujian and Anhui cuisines gradually became the most influential and popular, eventually forming “8 Chinese cuisines”. However, while Lu cuisine has had the greatest influence on Chinese cuisine in general with its numerous cooking methods and techniques, it has also suffered the greatest losses.

While they don't cover the entirety of China's vast culinary map, Chinese chefs have identified them as the most outstanding and popular. While Chuan cuisine may be popular, Yue cuisine is undoubtedly the most popular Chinese cooking style outside of China. All of these popular dishes are unmistakable signs of people's love for Sichuan cuisine and its role in the Chinese dining scene, even abroad. But few people know that there are 8 major Chinese cuisines, sometimes called the 8 great cuisines of China.

Chuan cuisine, also called Sichuan cuisine, is a style of Chinese cuisine that originated in the province of Sichuan, in southwestern China.

Tristan Gagliardo
Tristan Gagliardo

Proud social media ninja. Bacon expert. Unapologetic gamer. Proud zombie nerd. Freelance pop culture scholar.

Leave a Comment

Required fields are marked *